Cleansing Your Soul

f050cf_0a8706670d7f4c09844e1a08937986f1

Just like your closet, your mind and soul needs a deep cleaning every once in a while. Sometimes you have to stop and reevaluate your life. This cleansing is not something that is always planned. It may just hit you out of nowhere like a brick wall. But it’s not something to be scared of!

I was in deep thought one night and found myself overwhelmed by emotion. This emotion was followed by tears, but not of sadness. I took a long moment to think about the people who have wronged me in my life.

For so long, I  held onto negative emotions and disdain towards these people. They say that holding a grudge only hurts yourself but I never truly believed this until recently.

I started to think about how these feelings were effecting me and not on how I thought the people who wronged me deserved these negative feelings from me.

The tears flowed from my face and I experienced what I like to call a personal spiritual moment. In this moment, I could truly let go of all the negative feelings I held towards others despite the way they treated me.


Then the song “Malibu” by Miley Cyrus came on at the perfect time. Miley sings, “cause now I’m as free as birds catching the wind” as she talks about finding her happy place in life. I felt free in this moment too and realized that forgiveness is freedom. Focus on yourself and your happiness. Learn to let go of anything that’s hurting your personal growth. šŸ’™

Leave a Reply

